Catch the TAG virus!

I’ve been impressed by a movement started by Saddleback Church in California. Saddleback is the church founded by Rick Warren, author of the NY Times best selling, The Purpose Driven Life. A group of members at Saddleback established a TAG team. It is the purpose of this TAG team to single out individuals and groups to be the beneficiaries of random acts of kindness. A TAG team member may stop at Starbuck’s for a cup of coffee and decide to buy a cup for the person in front or behind them. Each time they TAG someone they give them a card that says, “TAG, you’re it. Now TAG someone else.”
Since I began my own game of TAG not only have I met some new friends but it has positively impacted my life in more ways than I could have imagined. The highlight of my day is to single out people to TAG. There is no greater feeling in the world to give something to someone they were not expecting.
A couple of days ago I was standing in line at a local restaurant and noticed a lady who was apparently a single mother, with two young sons. From their appearance I could tell a trip to eat out was not a usual occurrence for this family. After the lady and her two sons ordered their meal I stepped up to let the cashier know I would pay for their meal. As anyone would do, the mother did not want me to pay for their meal, but I insisted. I ordered my meal and as I was leaving the mother followed me out to the parking lot. She told me that she was indeed a single parent and had promised her two young sons the next time they were in town she would buy them a happy meal. As they made the trip into town she had worried about a decision she would have to make, “should I take the boys out to eat or spend my last $20 on their Christmas gifts I have already placed on layaway?” The mother made the decision to stop for burgers and had the faith that before Christmas she would have the means to get those gifts off layaway.
It doesn’t take money to TAG someone. Maybe you decide to rake your neighbor’s leaves or help a stranded motorist. Whatever the case, I challenge you to make the effort to TAG someone each day. Print you some cards that encourages the person you tagged to TAG someone else.
I can’t promise you that you’re random act of kindness will be received well, but I can promise you that your life will become more rewarding and the highlight of your day will be that moment when you make yourself available to TAG someone.
FYI, if you’re worried about the money thing…I’ve spent over $100 per week for the last month tagging people. What’s really funny is that my family hasn’t missed the $400 from the account.

0 Responses to “Catch the TAG virus!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

