Taking time to think

One of the toughest things for me to accomplish is taking the time to think. We max out our schedules with meetings and tasks and fail to give ourselves time to think. Personally, I had to schedule my thinking time and treat it like a meeting by putting it in my PDA. Like leadership expert Mark Sanborn, I spend most of my thinking or pondering time at a Starbuck’s. My daily agenda, setting short and long term goals all get their genesis at the coffee shop. I not only set personal goals, but family, career, community service, faith and impact goals.

Whether it’s at a Starbuck’s, in your study, office or some other quite place; take the time each day to get alone with yourself and think about what you want to accomplish during the day. Make sure that your daily agenda brings you a step closer to fulfilling your short and long term goals. Don’t do like some folks I’ve met who have some pretty good goals for their life, career and family, yet construct a daily agenda that has them going in a different direction.

As John Maxwell puts it, “a minute of thought is greater than an hour of talk.” When you really think about it, not planning your day, your goals and your life is pretty scary. When we plan our day and have a list of set goals we take the power of outside interference away. When we don’t take the time to set our agenda any little obstacle can take us off course. We can’t let the expectations of others determine the course of your life.

When we die it will be our name that is engraved on the tombstone above our resting place. Not our friends, not our co-workers, not even our mom or dad’s, but ours. To author a life that is rewarding we must take the time to think.

2 Responses to “Taking time to think”


  1. 1 Fernando Ceballos April 11, 2007 at 4:22 am

    Awesome. Been reading your blog for a while. I’m a pretty avid follower of Maxwell, but even here you manage to give me a few gold nuggets aside from my usual maxwell studies.đŸ™‚
    There’s an invite only conference going on, which Maxwell is headlining for 3 days. If you’re interested in seeing him live and meeting him, you might want to check this out http://www.leadersunplugged.com. I’ll be there. My buddy Jean is running this promotion. I hopped on board a soon as I knew about it.
    take care.


  1. 1 Taking time to think : PDA and SmartPhone Trackback on February 20, 2007 at 9:13 pm

Leave a Reply

